About Council

The township of Brewarrina was first settled as early as the 1830’s and the town was laid out in 1861 and proclaimed on 28th April 1863.

Council is responsible for looking after public facilities and providing community services across the Brewarrina Shire. This includes:

  • Strategic (town) planning
  • Construction and maintenance of local and regional roads, streets and bridges
  • Food and public health services
  • Waste management and recycling
  • Building and development control
  • Maintenance of parks, sporting fields, pools
  • Community facilities such as Libraries and Community Centers
  • Pet registration and management
  • Tourism services
  • Promotion of economic development
  • and much more.

Council is made up of:

The elected Council, which is made up of the Mayor and 8 Councilors. They are voted in by residents in Local Government elections each 4 years, to represent the interests of the community. 

Thee executive management team which is led by the General Manager, is responsible for the day to day operation and ensuring that the decisions of the elected Council are implemented.

Council staff and Councilors are required to abide by the Code of Conduct.

Council meets on the 4th Tuesday of every month.

Councillor Tommy Stanton


Elected to Council – 2014

Email – thomas.stanton5@det.nsw.edu.au

Councillor Noel Sheridan

Committees – Roads and Maritime Services Regional Consultative Committee & Western Regional Weeds Committee

Elected to Council – 2021 

Councillor Donna Jeffries

Committees-  Roads and Maritime Services Regional Consultative Committee, Tourism & Cultural Committee & Heritage Committee.
Elected to Council – 2017

Councillor Isaac Gordon

Councillor Douglas Gordon

Committee – Tourism & Cultural Committee

Elected to Council – 2021


Councillor Trish Frail

Committees – Murray Darling Association, Big Sky Library, Brewarrina General Cemetery Committee, Water Users & Tourism & Culture Committee.

Elected to Council – 2021

Councillor Mark Brown

Committees –  Aged Care, Brewarrina General Cemetery Committee & Heritage Committee.

Elected to Council – 2008

Email- markbrown2839@gmail.com

Deputy Mayor Angelo Pippos

Committees- Aged Care Committee, Big Sky Library & Traffic Committee.  

Elected to Council – 2008

Email angelo.pippos@hotmail.com

Mayor Vivian Slack-Smith

Committees – Brewarrina General Cemetery, Tourism & Cultural Committee.

Elected to Council 2017

Elected as Mayor 2022

Elected as Deputy Mayor 2020