Vegetation & Noxious Weeds

Environmental weeds reduce the diversity and/or abundance of native species or adversely affect the function of natural ecosystems. They can do this by forming dense stands that shade and smother native species or by altering natural disturbance regimes such as fire frequency. This can have profound effects on the structure and diversity of vegetation communities.

In addition, weed infestations can reduce the aesthetic appeal of our natural environment for public recreation and appreciation, and invade neighbouring properties where they may reduce agricultural production. Unlike native plants, introduced weeds have no natural predators or diseases in their new environment.

Most of the state’s environmental weeds were initially introduced as garden plants. In some cases, their seeds were dispersed across the landscape by birds, animals or the wind. In other cases they have escaped out of gardens or spread into bushland areas from dumped garden waste.

The Office of Environment and Heritage offers descriptions of major weeds in NSW and a broad range of weed management and information links and resources on their website.

Councillor Tommy Stanton


Elected to Council – 2014

Email –

Councillor Noel Sheridan

Committees – Roads and Maritime Services Regional Consultative Committee & Western Regional Weeds Committee

Elected to Council – 2021 

Councillor Donna Jeffries

Committees-  Roads and Maritime Services Regional Consultative Committee, Tourism & Cultural Committee & Heritage Committee.
Elected to Council – 2017

Councillor Isaac Gordon

Councillor Douglas Gordon

Committee – Tourism & Cultural Committee

Elected to Council – 2021


Councillor Trish Frail

Committees – Murray Darling Association, Big Sky Library, Brewarrina General Cemetery Committee, Water Users & Tourism & Culture Committee.

Elected to Council – 2021

Councillor Mark Brown

Committees –  Aged Care, Brewarrina General Cemetery Committee & Heritage Committee.

Elected to Council – 2008


Deputy Mayor Angelo Pippos

Committees- Aged Care Committee, Big Sky Library & Traffic Committee.  

Elected to Council – 2008


Mayor Vivian Slack-Smith

Committees – Brewarrina General Cemetery, Tourism & Cultural Committee.

Elected to Council 2017

Elected as Mayor 2022

Elected as Deputy Mayor 2020